Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Time doesn’t heal?

CharlieRae

• Members

Hi all. I’m new to this whole forum. I needed a place to vent and connect with people. I lost my father 2 years ago today. I was 24 at the time. I’m the one who holds the family together, but no one checks in on me. I was told I’m angry and some other choice words recently. I don’t think I’m angry, I’m just sad sometimes. Can anyone else relate to this? 

• Members

Hi Charlie Rae. I lost my mother recently too. You are so young. Anger is a part of grief. I can relate to the pain you are going through. After 2 years I still cry every day. People say time does make it better, but it doesn’t really ever go away. I think that may be good in the future—great love comes great feelings of loss—otherwise grief wouldn’t hurt as much. I’m still trying to figure out how to deal with the pain now.  I find having a shelf of special mementoes, notes and fond memories you wrote to them (saved in a small box or jar), photos and candle lit when you need to say hi, helps me a bit. Talk to people who you love and love you equally back is vital. Sorry to say this, but your family does not seem to appreciate your efforts to keep the family close. Maybe talk to them and say someone else has to take over. You need to heal with people who will be there as well. It’s hard but you have to let your unsupportive family go or place them as less of a priority for a short time. This is my first time to this forum and I hope it helps me, as well as you. Hugs, Gregg 

• Members

Yes I can relate to the anger and the frustration, I think a lot of people who have gone through this have these feelings. I have read about time helping but really time just helps you hide it better.  I am so sorry for your loss. 

• Members