Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

lost him to cancer....right before my eyes.

littletoad

• Members
littletoad

first of all, i'd like to say hello, because i'm new to beyond indigo. my name is danielle.

my dad left my mom and i when i was young - so when my mom worked during the day, my grandpa would take care of me. he really was the staple in my life - my only male role model - so in a lot of ways, he was more like a father than a grandfather.

i recently lost my grandpa to cancer (June 28, 2008) -  it was non hodgkins lymphoma.  he was 80yrs old - but before he got sick, everyone thought he was in his 60's. he was lively and healthy.

he struggled with the cancer for a year, but a bout of pneumonia really got him down and he was unable to recover. after that, things took a turn for the worst.

in just a matter of months, i watched the strongest man i ever knew become mere skin and bones.

he was so weak that he could barely walk, or talk. in the weeks before his death, he was unable to eat and days before his death, he couldn;t swallow anymore.

it was so hard to see him like that.

the day of his death, i was with him. right by his bedside. i watched the light fade from his eyes as he took his final breath.  it was peaceful, and that's what he wanted. i had never seen anyone die right before my eyes before.

i had never lost anyone i loved before, especially to cancer.

it's been a week since this happened, and i find myself randomly breaking down in tears. even before his death this would happen, as i would anticipate the death and grief.

it's hard to concentrate on the good memories, when all i see is him lying in bed, struggling to breathe.

i have saved phone messages from him - and i listen to them almost everyday, just to hear his voice.

today was my first day back at work. and people came up to me - sometimes people i never really talked to before - and said, "im sorry for your loss"