Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Raising our child alone

meaganreese

• Members

This is the first time I've tried reaching out and the first time I've written about losing the love of my life. Ironically I am a writer, but I could not put the pen to the page (so to speak) because doing so was admitting he was gone. I'm not sure where to begin my story, but I guess a little background information is required. Steven and I have been together (almost) ten years. He is/was my entire world. Somehow in Southern California, Steven found this broken Wyoming girl and loved her enough that she began to love herself. He taught me to enjoy life, and celebrate Christmas. He held me the day my mother killed herself and every moment before and after. He made me feel beautiful and special-and he told me I was every single day. Steven chose to stay with me when I confessed that doctors had told me I could never become a mother-even though being a father was all he ever wanted. And in November of 2012, when I told him we were pregnant I have never seen him as elated. It was only because he was the man he was that I even dared to consider I could be a mother. It was only because of him I had any confidence that I wasn't doomed to repeat the mistakes of my mother. It was only because of him that I believed I could do anything.