Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

How to cope with a sibling not advising us of fathers death..

lilacs

• Members

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to this type of forum but I am in desperate need of some advice and guidance. Not sure which way to turn but I know that I need some closure and I don't know how to get it. My situation may be very unique to some and sadly not for others. It is long and I apologize for that, but so much has happened and I no longer know how to deal with it.

My mother sadly passed away from cancer in October 2006 at 67. She was the glue that kept all of us together and she was my best friend. I thought I could never feel that kind of pain when she passed. Seeing her suffer and dwindle away to nothing was devastating. I miss my mom every day, I still cry when I think of her. I talked to my mom every day, not a day went by I didn't say hello. We had an amazing relationship that I will treasure forever.

My father could not handle losing his wife of almost 50 years so one day he just grabbed his bag of prescriptions and boarded a plane with just the clothes on his back and headed to my brothers place up in northern Canada. It was painful to see the hurt he was experiencing, the loss of the one person he loved more than life itself. By the time he showed up at my brothers doorstep he was a mess, he no longer wanted to be around my mother’s things, everything reminded him of her. He simply lost it and left.

Sadly I only saw my dad twice in the 6 years he was up there. We flew out in Nov 2012 and again May 2013 for his 78th birthday. I am a single mom and financially could not afford the trip out to see him. I did however talk to him almost every day. I was his only daughter and although our relationship was strained when I was growing up it only got closer as I got older and when my mom passed it only helped draw us together.