Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Practical Matters

Annie_Alone

• Members

Yesterday, I got a call from the funeral home that the copies of the death certificate are ready. I asked to have them mailed to me because I couldn't face driving up there again.

It was a rough day after that - one step forward, two steps back, I guess.

I wanted to ask - are there any hints or tips for going through this process of closing out someone's life? I have a list from the funeral home, but I've never done this before (and hope never to do this ever again). Is there anything I need to know? Is there anything that might help smooth this process? Is there anything you wish you would have known?

I am not looking forward to doing this - it feels like I'll be wiping him off the face of the earth for everyone but me, but I know it needs to be done.

• Members
MissingDaniel

Yes, I remember that phone call. I was back at work when it came, and when I hung up, I cried most of the rest of the day. I've gotten another call from the funeral home since, months later, about releasing the death certificate to the Dept of Education to close out a student loan. Again, I was a wreck afterwards.

I wish I had some great words of wisdom. I would say get help if you can with some of the details that someone else can handle. Take it one step at a time and don't overwhelm yourself. Give yourself time to feel whatever you feel as you go. And try not to look at it as wiping him away. You are taking care of things for your own peace of mind, as he would want you to. Nothing can wipe him away as long as he lives for you! Hugs to you - it is so hard.....

• Members

I know. That is exactly how I feel about Shari.. erasing her from every database.. hospital, doctor, bank, magazine subscriptions, It does feel like you are erasing them from everywhere except you.