Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Broken Girl

• Members

Hi, I'm new to this and don't know quite how it works. I suppose letting you know why I'm here is a good place to start. I lost my mum in February 2012 and I still haven't dealt with things and my life is going downhill. My mum started a job in a new building at the start of August 2011 and was walking to work one day instead of taking transport which she would previously have done to go to the old building. When she was walking to work was she was breathless and in pain so headed home and phoned a doctor. She got an appointment for around a week later and the doctor said it was just a chest infection gave her antibiotics and sent her on her way. Over a week passed and the tablets had finished so she contacted the doctor again. She was told at the second appointment that it was actually pneumonia she had and she received the treatment for this and returned to work once she felt up to it. However she had tightening's in her chest and didn't last the day before being taken to hospital. After being in hospital for a few days she was discharged and apparently healthy. A few days later she was back in and they ran tests and discovered the reason she had been feeling the way she had was because her lungs were filling with fluid. She was in hospital for a few weeks while they drained the fluid and tried to get her fit and healthy again. Once the fluid was drained they sent my mum for scans and discovered that she had a tumour in her lung. She started chemotherapy and other treatments to try and shrink the tumour and she just started to disappear as a person, she was losing weight rapidly, lost her hair, either in hospital or wrapped up at home, always tired and down and just not herself but she was determined to beat it. As time went on we believed that she was getting better and the treatment had worked, after several treatments it was the Christmas period and she was to go back for her results of the chemo at