Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Having a really rough time after losing my dad

gaylelynne

• Members

Hello. I'm Gayle and this is my first time to post. I lost my dad at the beginning of this month and am not doing so well. One minute I'll be ok, then the next I'm a crying mess. I'm worried that I may fall into a depression. I don't want this post to be long but I don't know how to keep it short.

My mother died 12 yrs ago unexpectedly and I didn't deal with it well at all. She was only 56. She had emphysema and had been in and out of the hospital for a couple of years, but she always got better. The day I left to do my two-week annual military training, she was supposed to go home. She went to the ICU instead. She died the last day of my training. It took me 10 years, months of counseling, and anti-depressants for me to get to the point where I could think about her without crying.

My dad and I had a difficult relationship. We were both very stubborn people and didn't seem to have much in common. When we would talk on the phone, I always ended up crying. He moved a couple of hours away but would come back to visit my sister and brother. I'd never find out he was in town until after he'd already gone back home. A couple of months would go by before I realized that we hadn't talked in a while, so I'd call him and we'd talk a few minutes. I started getting angry with him about not letting me know he was in town, as well as him not calling me. I decided that I wouldn't call him again until he made an effort to call me first. At one point, we probably went 6 mos without talking before I finally gave in and called him.