Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Lost...

MsDelilah

• Members

This is my first post, and it's very hard to know what to say...I guess I'll just start with why I'm here...

It's been almost 5 months since I came home from work and found my husband dead on the floor. Six days before my 39th birthday, I became a widow. Sudden Cardiac Death took him away. Not a single thing wrong with him, according to the medical examiner, but a spontaneous electrical malfunction in his heart struck him down. If I'd been home, I probably could have saved him--I'm a cardiac nurse after all. I would have known what to do. But while I was taking care of other people, he laid on our living room floor and died. Six hours later, I found him cold, face down on the floor. His face was black and blue, his skin mottled he'd been dead so long. He was so cold. I was so distraught, it took me several minutes to get the dispatcher to understand me.

He was 51, didn't take a single prescription drug, didn't have a single medical diagnosis. And he's gone. The grief has gotten worse with time, now that it's so final, so real. I have two moods: despondant and enraged. Therapy hasn't helped at all. I tried to join a bereavement group, but it was cancelled due to poor enrollment. Almost more irony than one can bear, to actually reach out for help and be told "I'm sorry, but despite the fact that we are a grief resource center, we can't find enough grieving people to actually help you".

So, here I am, with all my grief, all my rage, pushing all my friends away because I cannot bear any more platitudes. I'm so angry at him for leaving me, for getting a quick, painless death when I am left to hurt and grow old. Positively drowning in self-pity and thorough self-disgust.