Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

New Here. Lost My Dad, Trying To Pick Up The Pieces

Sidewindor

• Members

I am 22 years old and lost my dad a little over 2 months ago to a rare form of cancer. His battle was 18 months long and even though I knew the end was coming, I still can't believe my dad is gone. It was incredibly hard for me, my dad and I were extremely close. He was always there for me, coaching my sports teams and then being my biggest fan when I started playing at higher levels. Even though I have a brother I was always the one helping him out with projects around the house, we'd do yard work together, maintain the pool together, put the christmas lights up, and do tons of random things together. I was such a "daddy's little girl" and he'd always talk about me at work to his friends. Towards the end, my dad would only tell his coworkers one thing: "I have to make it to her graduation." You see, I graduated from college on May 18 and all my dad wanted to do was be there to see me cross the stage. He died on May 16.

Instead of celebrating my graduation I went and walked across the stage in the morning and went to the first viewing for my dad that night. I feel like I missed out on so much of my life over the 18 months my dad was sick, (no I don't blame him and if I could go back and do it all over again I wouldn't change a thing) but still, I feel so cheated out of being a normal kid. I couldn't even do a shot with him on my 21st birthday because he had liver cancer and didn't want to do anything to mess up his treatment. And now after I was robbed of doing fun things with my dad when he was here I'm now robbed of everything I would want to do with him in the future. I'm planning my wedding for next summer and he isn't going to be here and that kills me.