Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Husband has been gone 25 days

Sammijo2424

• Members
Sammijo2424

My husband of 22 years died 25 days ago, took him to ER at 4am, (he walked into hospital on his own) he had pneumonia, then heart started acting up when they put him on vent, was flown to larger hospital and died at 3pm. It has been devastating, I thought everything would be ok, he would get some antibiotics, and breathing treatments and would come home in a few days. No, no, no, he is dead. I feel so guilty, I am a nurse, should have known, I feel angry, I just want to die, only keep going for my kids and grand kids. My husband was my life, I quit working last year due to my disability, we did almost everything with each other, we were loners, did not need other people.

Now I am lost, still crying most of the time, screaming at God for taking him. I just want him back

• Moderators

sammi jo, I'm so very sorry. I wish I could say i had no idea what that searing anguish or the guilt trips are like. I wish I had some brilliant insight but all I can suggest is giving yourself time as it will take lots and pls be fair to yourself. You could not have known this was going to happen.

This is a great site IMO and here for you however it can help - to talk, unload, whatever. Thoughts and prayers to you -

• Members

I spent many many days and nights telling myself that I called the ambulance too late, I stll do when in one of those dark places. Deep down I know it just happened.

I am sill lost but have started to see the odd landmark. One step at a time, one day at a time, it will not always be like this.