Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Sudden loss of my father last year

steviedawn

• Members

My father, Duncan, passed away suddenly from a massive heart attack in the early morning of September 30th, 2011. I have been absolutely devastated, he was my best friend, we were talking constantly, he always made sure i knew how much he loved me and my son, and my boyfriend. I am a full time student with a 2 year old now, and have been so busy I pushed it all down and now i am totally side swiped by grief at random times. I dont realy talk to anyone about it, I dont know why. I think about my father CONSTANTLY. I mean all the time, whenI cut an onion for supper, I think of him. Driving, him.,, Its all the time. I need help, has anyone gone through this? I dont know what to do with myself, i get really angry if i dont work out every day now. I can't go to his old house or be around his things, as my step mother told us a week after he died to basically get lost. I am beyond lost and dont know what to do :(

• Members

I am so so sorry to hear of the loss of your lovely father Duncan. I lost my Dad September 2011 to stomach cancer. We only found out 3 months before he died that he was ill, although it wasn't sudden it certainly felt like it. I know what you mean about keeping busy, I've had so much on this year that I've barely had a chance to grieve properly, so whenever I'm alone it all comes flooding back and it's too much to bare.

All I can say is, please talk to someone, there are plenty of people out there, gp, counsellor, family, friends, or even someone like me online. The more you keep these feelings bottled up the worse and harder it is going to be for you, you don't want it to get to the point were you become ill yourself with stress, especially with your lovely 2 year old.