Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Unrequited Love

24chas

• Members

Hi,

This is my first post. I found this website via google and thought it may help me in my situation. After I graduated from high school, I became close to a fellow graduate. We didn't know each other that well during school, but there was some chemistry there that made itself felt during our graduation dance. The main problem was that she was moving the day after graduation to another state. We kept in contact via letters. By the way, this was 29 years ago; before the days of email or cell phones. It took real effort to stay in touch. We both were off to college in different states, but kept up communication with letters and phone calls. I sent her roses a couple of times and she came up to visit me one weekend. After school was over the next spring, I had to go to her city with my father to help him out with some business and we planned to get together. I saw her at her dad's store and we had a great reunion. But when I called her that night, she told me she had another friend in town and they were going out. That really hurt me and we never had contact again. I met someone else a couple of months later and we ended up getting married and having a child. In fact, I'm still married to her, but through all these years, I still thought about my first love. With the advent of the computer and the web, I tried searching for her but was never able to find anything. She never started a facebook account or did anything that registered on the computer. I even tried one of those services that searches public records, but got back an erroneous report on her. Just the other day, I did a random search and found her. I couldn't believe it. Unfortunately, it was an obituary notice; she had died 4 days before. It seemed she was divorced and living alone in a major northeastern city. The grief was immediate and profound. It still is even two weeks later. I feel major regrets in having our friendship end t