Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

death of a brother

Patti

• Members

Hi,

I was trying to find a group to go to in my area. But not much- as I read this site, it has already helped. I am a health care professional who has worked in life and death situations all my career but never dreamed it would be like this. It has been four weeks and I feel worse everyday.....I have a big family and we all are suffering deeply. My parents are elderly and I am afraid this will actually kill them too. I know the stages of grief, blah, blah, blah but the fact that anyone can be taken from you in a heartbeat is overwhelming. Especially someone like my brother who made the world a better place with everything he did.

My brother was killed while waiting for light to turn green by someone who ran a red a light and hit another car then flipped and hit him. He was a triathlete and has been training by cycling 80 miles every day for the last 2 months.

Beyond feeling like I have a broken heart, I am questioning my faith, why everyone walked away and why it was he who had to die. I also feel guilty for not always being there for him and not always understanding him but most of all I miss him and lament on the fact that I have to go through the rest of my life without him. I feel so sad for his wife, too.

Ok- that is my story and I thank you for letting me write it.

• Members

Pattia,

I am so very sorry for your loss. Your parents are probably stronger than you think; keep talking to them and let them share their feelings.

As you know, grief is different for everyone, and the rollercoaster of emotions continues for a long time for some and short time for others.