Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

losing my daddy

stephanietx

• Members
stephanietx

hello everyone. And yes this is my first time ever doing this. However, my situation is a little different. I lost my daddy unexpectedly on February 23, 2012. I called him dad-but he was not my biological father. I was not raised by my biological parents. My mother was 14 and my father was 18(it was a one-night stand). My maternal grandmother started to raise me when i was just 8 days old. I was 4 years old when she got together with a man named Joe. He was 20 years her junior. That man took me into his household as if i were his own. He worked and provided food and clothing and shelter for me. Most of all he gave me love. Many people did not know i was not his biological daughter. I used to call him by his name until i was about 10 years old and i called him "daddy." He never once told me i was not his child to not call him that-he welcomed it. I never called him by his name again. I married in 1996 to my husband. My dad was still an enormous part of my life. I had my son in 1997 and then my daddy became my sons "papa joe". My dad was so proud. My daughter followed in 2001. She became my daddy's creation. He spoiled and loved my children as if they were his blood just like he did me-if not more. In 2005, after 26 years of marriage, mom and dad divorced. I was literally disowned by my blood family for maintaining a relationship with my dad. That same year I married my husband again-but thru the church. My mom had nothing to do with it. My dad had everything to do with it up to going with me for fittings and choosing my wedding gown. My dad walked me down the aisle and he was so proud. He never said it-but i could see it. In 2009 dad started to go back and forth from his country to the US every 3 months. This last time he came it had been 5 months-and literally went straight into the hospital. He would stay with a nephew when he came back to the states. Dad died 2 days later.