Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Still cant explain how it happenned

lezitam

• Members

My mom passed away this Saturday, and everyone in my family is still stunned and in disbelief. They keep asking me what happenned and I honestly dont know what to say.

I am a recently graduated medical doctor and so all eyes are on me.

She started out with a simple cold, I took her to her regular physician and she prescribed her a treatment that seemed apropriate. The next day she seemed to be worse off and

so I took her again to see a different and fairly well known physician, who left her hopspitalized for three days, after which he sent her home to continue treatment.

The following morning she was hyperventilating and so she was admitted into the ICU service. The intensivist had to place her on mechanical ventilation. The initial 48 hr period he had

thought it would take her to get off the ventilator, turned into 15 long days. On the 13th day, the doctor explained that things were moving along fine but scheduled a tracheostomy to remove the

endotracheal tube. Day 14 went on fine with no mayor events, and on the morning of day 15 she passed, due to barotrauma from the mechanical ventilation.

I feel as if all fingers are pointed at me, and everyone expects me to have answers, and of course there are a few that believe me to responsible for the death of my mom.

So not only am I dealing with the loss of the most important in my life, am also being haunted by all these guilt issues and the questions of my family members.

• Members
sadbeyondwords

My mom passed away this Saturday, and everyone in my family is still stunned and in disbelief. They keep asking me what happenned and I honestly dont know what to say.

She started out with a simple cold, I took her to her regular physician and she prescribed her a treatment that seemed apropriate. The next day she seemed to be worse off and