Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Lost my Dad unexpectedly

Aduh

• Members

My Dad unexpectedly passed away 12 days ago of heart failure while in his bed, and it feels like the pain of his loss will never stop. I’ve been experiencing all 5 stages of grief together on a daily basis and in different orders, and sometimes I feel numb. It feels like my life will never be the same again without him. Like he turned off a light and left, and life now looks a lot dimmer and feels pointless. I left Home and my whole family 11 years ago, so I haven’t been able to see him since. But we talked over the phone, texted, and sometimes video chatted. I’ve been missing him for the past 11 years but the hope of seeing him and my family again kept me going. Now I feel regretful for not spending more time with him and guilty for being so far away from him for so long even though I had to due to my pending immigration status. I don’t know what to do to reach acceptance. I just feel so depressed and I’ve lost interest in life. 
Any advice?

• Members
Phoenix-Kat

Hi Aduh, I am so very sorry for your loss! Reading your story almost struck me. It is so similar to mine. 
I too lost my dad to heart complications. He passed away by the end of February in the hospital. I am grieving and cry every day! I miss him so much!! It breaks my heart that I will never see my dear dad again.
Similarly to you, I moved to another country 6 years ago and I haven’t seen my parents since then. 
Except of phone calls, FaceTime etc.once in a while. I too was not able to leave the country due to immigration status for a while. But when I was able to, I planned my trip back home in 2020. Then Corona happened and since then  I wanted to wait until all is a bit better with the situation.