Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Asked for a divorce but wish I hadn't.

• Members

Hey everyone, Im new to this so bare with me. I met my soon to be ex-wife when I was 24 and full in love almost immediately. Within 6 months I asked her to marry me and 2 years later we did. In between getting engaged and the actual wedding there were flags that I ignored. Blinded by my love for her. Since the day we got married things were never easy thanks to a down economy, job loss, birth of a child, major move due to career, injury, loss of an unborn child, birth of a 2nd child and even an emotional affair. We tried so hard to fight for our marriage but after yrs of being on the receiving end of verbal abuse, I slowly began to drift away, becoming reclusive. Last week I finally asked for a divorce while being pressed for an answer on my feelings. Today I regret even allowing those words cross my lips. She has been the love of my life for so long that I cannot truly picture us not being together. I realize that the name calling, threats of leaving me and put downs are certainly not conducive to making a relationship be loving and I suppose I'm once again turning a blind eye to the flags that are and have been present for some time. 

I broke down today in front of her and shared my truth on how I wish I had never said what I said and how in that moment that I did, all I wanted was for her to fight for us like I had done so many times before. Unfortunately, her will to fight has left her long before our diacussion.

I still remain broken, lost, afraid of what the road ahead and what it will be like, jealous of the future guy who will take my seat at the table and place in her heart. I feel like what I'm feeling is abnormal, which makes me feel lost and alone. 😔 

• Members
A hurting soul

Hi T,