Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

How did you face each day - what works on a daily basis?

Geri22

• Members

@Canadagirl81Laura...what a wonderfully insightful comment. Self-care and being loving, patient and kind to ourselves is what's absolutely needed during this time. We are severely wounded and need to heal however long that may take. 

@Geri22Geri...I am so sorry that you have such terrible and sudden loss in your life. It has been just a little less than five weeks since my partner Tom passed away suddenly in his sleep. Since then, I've been totally lost and bewildered but just as Laura mentioned, I immersed myself in online talks and advice on grief, grieving and loss...just seeking anything to give me some small sense of comfort. One thing that I did take up is journaling which is something that I've never done before but have discovered its comforting value. It's become my continual chat with Tom. Telling him about my day. Telling him that I chatted with his daughter. Telling him about the freakin' weather or whatever. I miss talking to him so the journal helps. At times, it can be just a small part of my day and at other times, I don't want to put the pen down. 

Be extra kind to yourself,

Don

• Like 3

• Members

Hi @Geri22,

Daily mindfulness meditation has worked for me. Just 10 minutes every morning. There are several apps online though I use Waking Up (Harris). It doesn't soothe the pain or lessen the grief, but it gives you tools for staying in the present moment and lessen rumination (which is what sends me into a spiral of depression). If it works for you, it'll effectively rewire parts of your brain, according to the science. Maybe check it out.

Journaling helps, too. Oftentimes, it will be much needed catharsis or a way to talk to your loved one, but it works best when you're trying to make sense of things. 

Hope this helps because we certainly need all the help we can get. I'm very sorry for your loss. 

Hugs,

Jerrold

• Like 4