Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Lost my Dad abruptly

Hazelharts

• Members

I've been working abroad for the last 5 years and make sure to visit my parents every year twice.

My father has and had a very special place in my life. He treated me like his little precious girl. He always told me that no matter where in life I am, or what ever trouble I'm going through, his doors are always open for me. So, he had my back and I knew that if anything goes wrong I can always take his shelter and be okay.

In 2020, I got engaged to my boyfriend and just after 9 days of my engagement, my father passed away very abruptly.

He was doing okay that morning and went for a day nap. But then he just didn't wake up after that. Doctors said he got a stroke.

I can never forget that day...I could never believe he would leave me so soon. He wished to plan my wedding day. I wanted him around. The worst part is that due to covid I couldn't travel back to my country to pay last respects before his cremation. So I didn't get to see him too.

Yes, it has been more than a year but I still feel the pain. I miss him badly everyday and specially on occasions and festivals. I feel like I have nobody to comfort me, no one who has my back. I lost most of my confidence because he was my cheerleader. I wish someone understood me better in my day to day life.

I can't wait to see him again but I'm not even sure if I'll still be able to. Life after him has turned upside down and even if I pretend to be happy for others, deep down it makes me more sad. This month I'm getting married but the whole idea of marriage is so vague without having my daddy by my side. I feel emptiness and numb thinking about the day.

Things are hard to put into words but In this forum I hope to find some friends who I can relate to and help ease this never ending despair.

• Hugs 1

• Members

Dear Hazel,