Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

I miss my 21 year old cat so much

Rachel07

• Members

Hi,
This is my first time writing on a forum, but I just feel so sad... I've had my cat for 21 years, ever since I was a child. He was one of my best friends, and I even felt like he was my son. 

Over the years, Brooke got weaker. He was able to walk but it did look sometimes like he had difficulty and he would wobble and lose balance sometimes. Over time his arthritis was getting worse and it was apparent he was losing strength. I would start to carry him up and down the stairs whenever I saw he wanted to go in one of those directions (although he was able to do this by himself, I could tell it was becoming a struggle for him and possibly even painful). He also for years has hardly used his litter box despite changes we have made like putting a ramp to help him get in it. Brooke also lost quite a bit of weight over the years and became weak. But despite his weakness, he was perseverant and still walked around the house. He would always come downstairs when my family was eating supper. And he was always so affectionate. He was always there for me, would study with me and was so loyal.

About a week ago, we started noticing even more changes in Brooke. He didn't come downstairs during supper anymore, and he would hardly eat. He also seemed weaker.