Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

New here, lost my mom 2 months ago yesterday

Lizluz1984

• Members
Lizluz1984

Hi,

my name is Liz I'm 26 my mom passed two months ago very suddenly, she was in the basement doing laundry and had a fatal arythmia. I was living a thousand miles away at the time ( moved away a year ago) we were (are) very close and spoke on the phone daily. I can't seem get it together I miss her so much I feel like everyone just wants me to get over it but I don't know how I can't sleep because of the constant nightmares. I hate waking up to a world without her every day. I'm currently living in our house with my sister ( moved back home after the funeral) everything reminds me of her I just wanna know how to move forward help'

• Members

Hi Mizzliz

Firstly, I am no expert in the field of grieving or how long it takes as I am going through much the same thing at the moment. All I can say is from what I am going through at the moment (but we must remember that grieving is deeply personal and there are no time frames), I am finding that I have the occasional day now where I don't burst into tears at the drop of a hat, so I figure, I am slowly coming to terms with the death of my father. I am also finding that on the days I don't talk about my dad, that they are generally the days I don't do so well, I need to hear his name spoken. Do you talk a lot with your sister or friends/other family members?

I have also read that there is the period in mourning where we do go through a time where it appears everyone thinks we should be over the death of our loved one, this is where we feel the most alone. Don't worry about what other people think you should be feeling, take each day as it comes, don't put so much pressure on yourself to be dealing with everything so quickly.