Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

My girlfriend died from an overdose

MrSifter

• Members

Hi, im new to this just found the site today and felt moved by others stories I feel it may help me to tell my story...my girlfriend died 2months ago and Im really finding everyday a struggle...I knew she had a problemthe third time i met her after finding her methadone prescriptions...I was devastated as im not a user....I could have walked away but I cared about her already and I wanted to help her get clean...she wanted that so much...anyway cut the story short I got her out of london to live with me in cambridge in four months she got clean and off the methadone...I was ready to propose as I always said I would when she got clean..but she said she wanted to go to see her friends and I said I trusted her as she had done so well...I left for work in the morning and she went back to london and obviously decided one more time would be ok but she used again and died...it was the one thing I did my best to stop happening but I wanted her to know I trusted her and this happened...its been nearly 2 months now and her loss is still hurting everyday I cry because nothing seems real or right anymore...I miss her so much im desperate to hear from anyone who has experienced this...I feel the guilt and the shame but could I have done anything more...we were together 2years and talked of the future and a family but it sadly will never happen now... I dont want anyone to think badly of her she was the kindest cutest person I ever met but she had an illness an addiction that was too strong...ive lost her now and my world is upside down im lost and lonely and would do anything to have one more minute with her I loved her so much and the pain of missing her isnt going away...she will forever be in my heart and thoughts...if you have taken the time to read my story please feel free to contact me...as much as I'm looking for help I might be able to help others in my position...I know how