Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

I can't comprehend losing my father

manowar4563

• Members

My father recently passed away due to complications of COVID. He was a healthy man and in the prime of his life (he was 50 years old) but I had no idea that he was going through so much pain, since I am studying 500km away from home and no one told me that my dad was hospitalized. My mother knew, but she hoped my father would make it until the last moment. His condition was stable a few days before he passed away, and my mother even talked to him on the phone. A day before he passed away, she drove all the way to me to bring me home, as we wanted to celebrate his recovery, but on the road, we received the horrible news. At first, I couldn't react at all, I didn't know what to say or do, and only after we got home did I understand what happened and broke down. 

I am an Orthodox Christian and our whole family is, so when my father was at the Chapel I couldn't bring myself to visit him. I was just scared and terrified and I could only stay near the Chapel, outside, in the Church's garden. I saw my father only when we buried him and I feel like such a coward for not visiting my father 

I don't know what to feel, I could barely cry when I heard the news of my father's passing and I couldn't cry or bring myself to cry at all since then. I don't know why I can't, I love my father so much you wouldn't believe but I just can't cry, I don't know why

I still can't even comprehend he passed away, I still believe he is alive, here, with us, as if he's away for work and I'm waiting for him to come home

I feel terrible and guilty

I apologize if I don't make sense but I just wanted to let out all of my feelings 

• Members