Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Loss of an ex

CVS

• Members

This is my first time ever writing a post like this. On Wednesday I found out my ex boyfriend had passed away. He died on Tuesday. I am still not sure what happened. We were together back in 2016 for about two years.. on and off. We ended things on an ok note and moved on. I am now in a relationship and I don't think he was in one. I had not spoken to him in a couple of years. I saw him around town a couple of times, and often thought about him. I never reached out to him out of respect for my current boyfriend. His passing has me feeling all sort of things. I might not get any replies but that is ok because I just need to let out my grief even if it is through here. My mom and brother have said they are here for me. My current bf doesn't understand why I would be sad over an ex so I just don't bring it up to him, or anyone. I am not sure what I am feeling. I don't love him or miss him in an intimate way but his death hurts. This is a bit of our story. I had two kids when I met him. I was not on good terms with the father of my kids and he kind of stepped in. He was good to them and my girls loved him. He was so sweet and nice. He had a good healthy relationship with my them. They don't remember him now. In the end it didn't work out and we went our separate ways. Now that he has passed, a lot of memories come back. He once said if we made it past the new year that year, that I should expect a ring. That scared me because I wasn't there and I started distancing myself. He also said once after our breakup that he didn't see himself having children with anyone but me because I was a good mom. Maybe that changed in the recent years, I don't know. I dreamed of him last night. I have cried these last couple of days. I saw his obituary and lost it. He was only 28 years old. I don't know why I feel such huge heartbreak. He was a big part of my life at one point. I got back with my kids father so my ex wa