Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Still angry at myself over my sister’s death

K’slittlesis

• Members
K’slittlesis

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting. My big sister passed away from a Fentanyl and Xylazine overdose early this past December 2018. No one found her until January 3, 2019. She was deceased alone in her house for over a month with her dog, who miraculously survived going all that time with no food.

My sister had been very depressed about her divorce. Her husband of 10 years sent her an email saying he was filing for divorce in 2015. She had been using prescription opioids because she got injured training for a half marathon in 2010, and I guess she got addicted and it took over her life. When her husband left, she spiraled out of control and couldn’t get the prescription opioids anymore so she started using heroin. Her ex husband messaged me when they were separating and told me he thought she was using hard drugs. I sent a group text to her with several other family members and asked her what was going on and said we wanted to help her. She completely denied using drugs and got so angry at me because she thought we were siding with her ex. She said really nasty things to me, so I backed off. I guess I also thought maybe she was telling the truth and her ex was lying about her using hard drugs to damage her reputation with her family, which is what she claimed.