Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Mocha was only 3!

Matthewada20

• Members

Howdy...I guess I’ll start off by saying I am a freshman at a big University. I am  living off campus: thus, I was able to bring my best friend—My cat Mocha. Mocha and I had a special bond. I grew up on a farm with cows, llamas, dogs, cats, chickens, etc. BUT I have never loved anyone like I did Mocha. She would make me feel good in low times and great in high times. She didn’t ask for much, just protection. I was her person. I was supposed to protect my Mocha. The worst part?? I could have. I dropped her off at the vet yesterday morning. She was there for an elective surgery—declawing. It was not necessary. She would be laying right on my chest if I never brought her in. After dropping her off at 7am, I went to my Chemistry Lab Class. On my watch, I noticed 5 missed calls from the vet. I ask to use the bathroom, thinking that I forgot to consent to something. No, unfortunately, I signed everything. “Tragedy has struck” is what the Vet told me. Once he told me Mocha passed, before even being put under  anesthesia because “her heart was too weak”, I collapse to the floor in the Hallway. That was my ‘person’. I failed her. I called my mom, in crazy tears. She started crying. I had to finish Lab, and my mom called the vet to arrange death details. I had one more class and immediately rushed to the vet after. Tears constantly flowing for the past 5 hours. What did I do? I picked up her cage, food, bed, toys, etc. I wanted her to be comfortable. No, not now. I want her here. I feel like I lost a part of me. She was my rock for going through this crazy college ride. I miss the company, not of a pet, but of my Mocha. I am so sorry that I failed Mocha. I am guilty. 3 years was not enough with my best friend. 

C82CF56C-0F5A-46D3-B2D4-C3F5C3633D06.thumb.jpeg.fe0adf8c1145eada562cd2105755ee6c.jpeg

• Moderators