Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Loss of a young kitten

TheAzure

• Members

I'm fairly new to this whole thing, I'm not much of a 'sharer', if that's the right way of putting it. But I'm kind of losing my mind here and I feel like a little splurge with some like minded people could help. The monday just gone (15/2/16) our little Alexander (the Great) threw up his breakfast and we whisked him away to the vets. She assumed some kind of stomach irritation, we paid for our consultation and injection then took our baby boy home. It didn't stop. Following consulations on the Tuesday and Wednesday Alex ended up being admitted on Thursday morning and was placed on an IV with fluids, as he'd been refusing to eat or drink and was dehydrated. A call from the vet and we were told he had a Urinary Tract Infection and we could pick him up with some antibiotics that evening, which we did. Immediately we felt better just having him in the house. But he was off. He still didn't eat, but he drank and urinated frequently so we put it down to stress and antibiotics.

At one point he stumbled out of the kitchen and his eyes lit up at the sight of us, we called him over and he leapt up onto the sofa and sat with us. For just a minute we had our little boy back, but his eyes soon glazed over and he returned to his bed to sleep and lap up water. I stayed up with him until I finally fell asleep at 4am. Awaking the next day he hadn't improved, so off he went to the vets again. A third vet now told us that there was little hope for him and we'd have to make a choice. So we chose the kindest thing, rather than drag out his suffering.