Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

This pain...how do I deal?

Lex_Morgan

• Members

I just lost my father, who I had always taken care of up until cancer took him. I don't know how to grieve him, though I know there is no right or wrong way to....I've lost my biological mother and adopted to cancer too. This just feels different and in a way more painful. I try not to think about it because when I tap into what I am feeling it just hurts. I don't have many people around who understand what losing a parent feels like. Any words would help me; feeling alone in this.

• Members
dayzed and confused

Lex_Morgan,

I am so very sorry for the pain and loss you are feeling over your father's passing. I'm new to this grieving process myself, as my mom died a little over two weeks ago, and I, along with my sisters, took care of her for the years she was sick. 

I know what you mean when you say you don't know how to grieve him.  I have so many conflicted feelings myself, and I just want to feel like I used to feel, before she passed.  This changes you  - and you have to give yourself time to adjust to that change.  I received some very good advice on here, and am so glad I posted.  I am sure you will too.  

Be patient with yourself, and while I understand that you do not want to let yourself be debilitated by the sadness, give yourself time to feel it.  Otherwise, you may find your subconscious popping in memories and upsetting things when you least expect it.  I find if I don't give myself daily time to feel my pain I end up having disturbing, and haunting dreams.  

I wish you peace and love on your journey.

• Members

Lex Morgan -