Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

What frightens me

• Members

I've been a paramedic, a social worker, a Buddhist. I've worked in ERs, hospices, funeral homes. Dying doesn't frighten me.

What frightens me is a homeless guy I once met. When his wife got sick he spent and sold everything he had to care for her, quit his job to care for her; who else was going to? After the modern American health care system had thoroughly wrung him out and extracted everything from him but the marrow of his bones, she died. A very nice guy; I liked him, but all hollowed out inside; like the shell of a burned-out building so long after the fire that even the ashes are gone. Not an alcoholic, not mentally ill, just completely used up; a hollow, empty shell.

What frightens me is the financial devastation. Due to the high costs of dying in America, the Social Security Administration estimates that widows are four times more likely to live in poverty than married women. 49% of foreclosures and 62% of bankruptcies are directly caused by medical bills.

What frightens me are the survivors I've met; exhausted and consumed by shame for silently hoping as they walk into a modern American health care facility that their Beloved has died, concealing bitter disappointment to find them still suffering, and overwhelmed by guilt to find that they're actually relieved when the love of their life finally stops breathing. I've known people to carry that secret pain deep inside for years afterward.