Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Hello, This is my first time here.

laura97

• Members

I was told about this site by my step-daughter and she thought it would be a good place for me to come and talk about my situation with my wife. I don't really know what to say. My wife passed away in Nov. of 2007. She was flown from our town down to St. Lukes in Houston  where she could recieve better care. Although the doctors kept telling me she was slowly improving, on Nov.12 they suggested the best thing we could do for her was to turn her machines off. She was flown down on Sept.11. There are so many things I wished I would have done differently. Although it has almost been a year it seems like yesterday that this all happened.  She was 47.

• Members

I am so sorry for the loss of your beloved.  This is still really early for you, not even a year.  My beloved partner passed on July 28, 2006 and I still miss him every day. 

When Ishaq passed, my spiritual teacher told me to try not to make any major changes for one full year, for one full walk around the sun.  And another friend, who is Native American told me in their tradition the mourning period is seven years.  It is a walk that each of us must do in our own way.  I did things very differently, and still do.  I have what I call and "ancestor altar" that has Ishaq's ashes on it, a box with a lock of his hair, a rock from the river where he passed (he died of a blood clot - his heart stopped while he was laughing in the river.  He literally died laughing, which fits him really well.  And his name, Ishaq, means "divine laughter".)

Don't let anyone tell you how you should grieve, or that you need to "move on".  This isn't helpful and no one but you knows what you need to do.  Watch for signs, dreams...Ishaq has visited me a lot over these last 25+ months, mainly in dreams, but he has left me signs as well.  The signs may only have meaning for you.