Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

New here and so lost!

sweetbabegirl

• Members
sweetbabegirl

I have been visiting the cancer message boards for the last 5 1/2 months, and now that he is gone I need help with the grieving I feel.

My husband was diagnosed with cancer the week after Thanksgiving. He started Chemo and Radiation the following week. The doctors told us that he was *fixable*, my husband kept such a positive attitude. The day before he was scheduled for surgery, they did another PET Scan and his Liver lit up like a Christmas tree. The surgery was off! They said there was nothing more they could do. They gave him the option of more chemo, but said it would give him alittle more time. My husband chose to not have the chemo, cause it made him so sick.

The next month, my husband was able to get around, but had days of nothing but sleep and throwing up. I can remember those nights of sitting next to him, helping him. Then he decided he needed to go to San Diego, to say his good byes to family and friends. As sick as he was I would have never denied him of that. He left for San Diego in April, stayed 1 week. The first couple of days he seemed fine, but then down hill from there. When he came back home, he didn't do anything anymore. It was hard enough to get him to eat. We enjoyed our talks, and thought we had everything taken care of for after he passes.  I spent each night holding him, rubbing his back and side until he would fall asleep, only to be awakened to the throwing up.

As the days went on, he knew it was getting closer. I am not sure how they know, but they do!!! He told our family and friends it was no longer weeks, it was days. Everytime I would hear him say this, I would get this huge lump in my throat.