Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

15 Days

Tania

• Members

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting actually my first time having to deal with death period.

My Dad was killed on February 22, 2011. He was hit by a transport coming home from going shopping. He was only 56 years old and my protector.

I managed to plan the funeral, be there for my kids and siblings. But now it's been 15 days and the grief is just getting worse. Everything reminds me of him. Okay I'm 35 yrs old but I was still Daddy's girl and trying to be strong for everyone else is driving me nuts.

I have never had to endure such pain in my entire life. Between my own grief I've had to put that aside to be strong for my kids and my siblings. I feel if they see ME fall apart then there's no hope for them. I'm the strong independent one. But I can't seem to get the feeling of missing him behind me. I'm lucky I have my partner who seems to have been a god send for me during this time.

After Dad's funeral I put pictures in my living room. I mentioned to my fiancée last night that I should take them down. He asked me if it was making it too hard and I choked up. I went to take a shower and being who he was he took them down last night. At first I panicked. It sounds so silly I know but when I didn't see his pictures I was torn between being relieved and almost like losing him all over again. The urge to tell him to put them back up was so strong. But I didn't. Having to look at them every second of the day was too much. Now I have guilt. Almost like I'm afraid he'd be saying I'm trying to forget him. But I don't want to think about it. Every time I see him I think of that accident that took him away from his 8 kids and 10 grandkids. I feel angry and cheated. My Dad shouldn't be dead. He was supposed to live forever. I know it sounds silly but my dad was a man you would have never guessed would be gone at 56. He was 6'3 and 300 lbs and lived for us.