Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

100 Days

Skywise

• Members

TL:DNR

Today marks 100 days since Clive died.  I can't believe he's been gone so long - to me it feels like it all happened yesterday.  I don't feel like I'm moving on at all emotionally.  I've learned to stop crying so much in public at least.  I can actually get around the supermarket now without crying about the fact that I no longer buy his favourite cheese and that I only have to buy half the amount of everything - but the feelings inside me are still the same, I'm just learning to hide it better.

On Saturday I went around the local motorbike shops to try and get a valuation on his beloved Moto Guzzi.  It's way too big for me to ride and I know he wouldn't it just mouldering away in the garage - someone should get use out of it and love it the way he did.  He used to call it his Italian Mistress and joke that if the house caught fire he'd rescue the bike first and then come back for me!  I feel so guilty about selling his possessions.  They're his.  It's not only the bike, he has 3 cars, 2 of which are old junkers that he was going to spend his retirement doing up.  The only people who are interested in them are the scrap merchants and I feel dreadful that I'm selling them for scrap, but I can't do anything with them and they can't be driven so they have to be taken away on a low loader - the only ones willing to do that are the scrappys so I don't really have a choice.  The guilt is overwhelming, even though I know that it's only what he would do if he were still here.