Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

my young dog died tragically

lisawool

• Members

Hello,

on Friday the 3rd November we lost our miniature dachshund only 2 years old in a horrific incident. At a public park two big dogs came running up, one of the dogs attacked Bob and killed him. My daughter was in the playwark and witnessed this all. I am in shock and grieving so much. I am an artist and work from home, he was with me all the time and my best friend. He helped me through a tough time and just always gave unconditional love. My daughter is 9 and my son is 14, its affected the whole family and I just don't know how to deal with this pain. I can't sleep, the incident keeps replaying in my mind, I wish I have done more.. The attacking dogs didn't wear collars or anything and their jaws locked on my dog. 

The police is involved as well. I came to this forum as I need advice and support, I can't bear to be home...

Thanks

IMG_2977.JPG

• Moderators

I am so sorry, it is a horrible thing that happened to your sweet little dog.  I am glad the police were called, we wouldn't want this to happen to anyone else and those mean dogs need stopped.  They should not have been in a public park free to roam.  My hope is that when this happened your dog went into a shock that protected him form feeling and realizing what was going on.

Even though you didn't personally see what happened, our minds can conjure up images that are very difficult to deal with.  You might want to try a therapist to help you with this.  This has often been used in dealing with such traumatic imaging...

http://blog.healthjourneys.com/update-from-belleruth/emotional-freedom-technique-eft-may-look-weird-but-if-it-gets-the-job-done-do-we-care.html 

https://www.griefhealingblog.com/2010/03/using-emotional-freedom-techniques-eft.html 

Your daughter is very young to have witnessed something like this, how is she dealing with it?  You might want to consider grief therapy for her as well.

• Members