Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

I don't know what I'm doing anymore

Sweetheart346

• Members
Sweetheart346

In five minutes as I'm typing this, it will be five months since my mother has passed. I feel like this month will not be one I can manage like I did in September. This is especially because of how I'm a sophomore in college and I don't know what I'm doing. My major was officially nursing. I thought I could be strong and finish it for my mother. After all, she wanted me to become a nurse more than I did myself. A&P 1 class definitely changed my mind on that. I am currently failing it with a D. I'm doing all the extra credit I can but nothing is helping it since tests bring it right back down. Tutoring and speaking to the professor do not help either. Due to financial difficulties in my family now because of my mother passing away, I cannot drop or withdraw from the class without FAFSA making me have to pay it back. So I'm being forced to finish it. I hate the class so much. Especially lectures about cancer and white blood cells or bone marrow. They all relate to my mother and just remind me of how she died. The information doesn't comfort me in any way.  The professor always relates some topics to her mother. And how she is alive and strong at 70. Mine did not even live to see 55. Just ruins my mood for the rest of the day. I feel useless. I wish my mom was here to help me decide on what else to do since nursing isn't working out for me. I now hate the idea of working in a field where some people die. I spoke to a career counselor and I still cannot decide on a major. I hate how the rest of my friends know exactly what they are doing with their lives. Some even graduatiing earlier than me. I have low energy no matter how much sleep or exercise I do. I never have enough energy to do extra studying, I barely even enjoy doing the homework that is actually assigned. I'm tired of getting flashbacks to this summer I lost my mother. No matter what I do to kee