Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

How long?

SRB

• Members

I lost my fiance, the first man in my life who was kind because I had done the work to know my self-worth.  We were together for 2 years where all our people commented that we never seemed happier or at such peace.  The night he died I told him he looked unwell...he looked shocky...im a nurse.  Then I went home and we talked on the phone about when we would move in together and how we would marry.  We had always talked about marriage but we actually started to formulate a simple plan.  He talked to his daughter about it.  He wanted me to come stay over but I was always so precious about my sleep.  I left him to die alone and for his daughter to find him.  I know we had the cherished conversations and he died in love.  Am I going to be spending tbe rest of my life waiting for him to come get me?  Cause im trying...im reaching out...its early...im not isolating...but I just want him to come get me (not suicidal).  Just one more cuddle...

• Moderators

SRB,

I am so sorry...it is so hard.  You didn't "leave him to die alone and for his daughter to find him", you simply went home as you always did.  You had no way of knowing this would happen, and if you would have known, of course you would have stayed with him.  How could any of us know or predict what was to come?!  We all thought it was an ordinary day, nothing different about it.  You were both in love and planning a life together, and THAT is what he was thinking about as he found himself entering the world beyond.

Oh how we relate, we would all love one more time to be together!  And if any of us could plan one more day together, it wouldn't likely be a spectacular day of sightseeing or Disneyland, it'd be an ordinary day in each other's arms that we would choose.  For that is what we miss.

Welcome to this site, I hope you will keep coming here, it helps a lot, just knowing there are others making their way through this that understand.