Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

One year coming up

Abeck0486

• Members

This is my first time posting here.

I lost my wife almost a year ago. I though by now I would be able to get through at least one day without being a total wreck. I'm on all kinds of meds still, working a low pay low stress job, and can't seem to move forward, I am raising 10 and 7 year old daughters, with the help of my parents. I get out less and less, started having hallucinations, and don't even recognize the house I live in. Does this nightmare ever end?

• Members

Abeck0486, It is not easy moving forward. Sometimes we feel as though stuck in a time warp. We want what we can no longer have--- our spouse/partner and the together life we shared. Life did not stop with our loss. *Time marches on*, as the country song goes. We have to move forward also, in order to find hope and a new meaning, purpose. You have 2 lovely daughters that love you and look up to you.You are blessed to have your parents supporting you and being there for your daughters. At some point, we have to push ourselves a little to get out and carry on. Our beloveds would wish for us to keep living for ourselves, family and for them.Depending on where you live, there should be free things to do with your daughters when you are not working. Most cities/towns have free outdoor concerts, hiking trails, flea markets (just to walk around and browse, no need to spend money). Some museums, chamber of commerces, libraries, offer free children activities. Just going to a local park/playground with a small, inexpensive lunch packed from home is a good way for you to stay connected to your daughters.

Have you been to your doctor recently to go over your meds and possibly making dosage changes? Have you been involved with a grief support group or a grief counselor?