Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Does it get better? Ever?

HappyNow74

• Members

OK, I'm new to this.

On Thanksgiving day of 2014 my best friend shot my 18 year old daughter in the head. I had to approve to stop life support, and agree to donate her organs.  I wish I could explain the feeling but I don't seem very gifted at communication. 

About 10 days ago I began to feel more optimistic than I have in more than 2 years. Today that came to a horrific stop. The giant abyss of my soul has begun to swallow me again. I know everything that is supposed to happen. I know its normal. And I even know that I am completely alone. My daughter, my friend, my signature on her advanced directive. The responsibility of those thoughts never stop. I have rational thought processes that tell me all the right answers.... But my paralyzing pain and fear are sharp. I've learned to wear a poker face. I try not to bring it up. But its ever present, even when I can block it out. I have learned to hide and scream and cry without a sound. The murderer was not even questioned at the police station. The 40 year old high security prison guard, who controls inmates without a gun (loved to brag about pressure points), felt it necessary to shoot her between the eyes, Called it self defense, and went back to the world. No muss, no fuss. 

Why did I have a spontaneous positive and hopeful ten days if today it feels like I've been punched in the stomach? I don't really feel like wearing this for the rest of this life. 

• Members