Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Annalisa79

Sharing experiences. Missing you dad.

3 posts in this topic

I am new to this but thought it could help me to talk about my experience and others can share theirs. I have never really talked about what happened. In 2006 my dad took his life due to depression. He hung himself in the house where I grew up. I was 26 at the time and not living at home. My mum found him, cut him down and tried to resuscitate him. I remember the phonecall from her. She said 'your dads done the worst'. I didn't want to believe what she was saying and made her say the words to me that he is dead. When I got to her the police were at the bottom of the stairs blocking the view as his body was still there. I remember hugging my mum and we just made endless cups of tea. My brother was in the French Alps at the time having the time of his life with his band gigging the ski resorts. We had to ring him to break the news. I remember speaking to his friend and asking him to take care of my brother as we will be telling him some very bad news about dad. It was the worst thing I have ever had to do. My mum and brother went to pieces and I took on the role of looking after them. At the funeral I didn't cry and felt very guilty for that. I have since cried my heart out regularly but I think the shock and having to be strong for them delayed my reaction. At the funeral the crematorium was full with people standing at the back as all the seats were taken. I remember thinking you're here now but why weren't you here for him when he needed you. My dad was a very kind and considerate person with a great sense of humour when he was well. For the next few weeks it was like every conversation I heard was about suicide and people joking about being depressed etc. I felt like I was going mad. The guilt has and probably always will be one of the worst things - I always think what if I'd been there more and been kinder (we had our moments). I got through it by havin