Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Grandmother is dying

Medic201093

• Members

Hello.  My grandmother has terminal lung cancer.  My mother has been caring for her for off and on for the past year and has been her primary caregiver for the past seven months.  The end seems to be drawing near.  I am wondering how to help my family, esp my mother, after my grandmother dies.  What is the best way to handle the holidays if my grandmother dies before then?  :unsure2::unsure:

As a paramedic, I have encoutered death often.  I understand the process and the stages of grief the loved ones feel afterwards.  I have just not experienced it very much in my personal life.  Any advice or input would be appreciated.  Thanks.

• Members

Hi Medic201093,

I'm sorry no one has answered for the majority of the month, sometimes the spam leads us astray.

As you know, it's very different for each person.  Besides the pain of loss, it may be that your mother might feel guilt that she feels some relief that her mother passes after such a long bought of caretaking.  And yet, she may not feel that.  It is best to always just be open to whatever she may be feeling.  With my own family, I found it really important not to be afraid to bring up the person we lost and what their opinion was about whatever we were doing or talking about.  This made us be able to have moments of communion and make a space available for anyone who wanted to share more about how they were handling the moment.

I also found it very important to have someone in my life who wasn't experiencing the same loss.  Someone to whom my grief and my loss for that person was the only one that they knew.  It validated my relationship and my pain because I didn't have to worry about whether they were having a different kind of pain (for the same loss).