Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

Lost on what to do next.

Shelisjenkins

• Members
Shelisjenkins

On November 13th my soul mate was killed in a car accident just 2 blocks from our home.

I am 29 years old and this is the most devastating loss I've had to face. I do not know what to do...

Anyone have suggestions?

• Members

Hi Shelisjenkins-

I am so very sorry for your loss.

I'm no expert and also a recent newbie to losing the love of my life to sudden death. There is no time limit on what you're feeling or when. This is like a manic wave in the ocean and I'm learning to ride it out. What choice do I have? It's not easy by any means - and things will never be the same. Right now it's about learning to adjust and adapt to your new life.How long that takes? I don't know.  But everyone is different because of different coping skills, life experiences and sets of circumstances. Apart from this forum or any others you're a member of, I'm hoping you have a supportive group of family and friends you can lean on while going through this.

Today I picked up a book called "I wasn't ready to say goodbye" by Pamela D. Blair. I'm half way through it and it's only validating what I already know and feel. But, it's a good book so far. Maybe you'd like to take a look at the reviews on Amazon or Barnes and Noble to get an idea and see if this would help comfort you during those quiet moments.

Sending you a big virtual hug. I am truly sorry for your loss

• Members
Shelisjenkins

Thank you The Veil.

I'm so completely lost on what to do with my life without him. We didn't have enough time together.. 

I know that he wouldnt want me to submerge myself in sorrow, but I miss him like crazy and I do not know what to do with myself anymore.

We had our schedule and when it gets to a specific time, I look for a message from him, or for him to come home from work. Now it is just me... I'm not ready to be alone... :( 

• Members

Hi Shelisjenkins -