Forum Conduct & Guidelines Document ×

I blame myself for my Mum passing and will never be able to live again

Dell1960

• Members

My 82 year old Mum passed on 28 June last. She had been in hospital a month. But prior to that she came home from her nursing home to be with us for a while. It was a bad decision a d I think she deteriorated directly as a result of being moved. Tbe nursing home agree and blame me too. I know the suffering will not end for me until I die

I was a nurse. Now I can never nurse again. I have told my employers what happened and I am now on sick leave. Every day is torture without my mum. I get flashbacks of things i did wrong and I wantvto die but I am not able to take my own life. I also fear death and judgement. I am waiting on counselling but the wait time in London is a long time unless you can pay.

I never ever thought life could be so hopeless. I know I deserve to suffer but feel I should be in a place of correction. I thought of joining a religious order but you have to be happy in yourself for that. I am 54 so am too old really. My mum was the main one in my life. I have no children. I did have a partner but we drifted apart.

No one seems to have had similar experiences.

Dell60

• Moderators

I'm very sorry for your loss and your pain. But please keep in mind that guilt is very common when losing someone, especially thinking of the things we did wrong.  Much of what you wrote sounded very familiar to me - if I had a nickel for all the things I could've and should've done better I'd be rich. Like you, I've beat myself up more than a little.